BSP serves up K50, 000 to PNG Volleyball Association Inc

Date: Friday 23rd October, 2020

PNG Volleyball Association Incorporated will host another successful National Championship this year with a significant backing from Bank South Pacific (BSP).

Amelia Minnopu and Kila Dick_Thumb

BSP presented a cheque of K50, 000 to the association to support the Under 21 Indoor National Championship and the National Open Indoor Championship from November 5th - 10th, 2020.      

BSP Corporate Sponsorship Manager Amelia Minnopu when presenting presented the cheque to the PNG Volleyball Association President Kila Dick said," the bank supports a wide range of sports and events and volleyball is one of the many codes that we support at the National level."      

"We believe our support will pave opportunities to emerge new talents and   building relationships and achieve meaningful results and reaching full potential in this sport," says Minnopu.

When receiving the cheque Dick said, "This is the second year BSP has supported PNG Volleyball Association to host its National Championship and we highly appreciate the support." I am very delighted and humble to have BSP to be the major sponsor for the second year running,

"The funds will assist us to host the 2020 PNG National Volleyball championships which includes the Open men / Women championships and the Under 21 boys / girls' championship." Mr Dick added.

PNG Volleyball is one of the 11 sports that granted approval from PNG Sports Foundation recently to continue its session games after the COVID 19 lockdown. We ensure that the COVID 19 measures and protocols are followed; therefore, the association have secured the SJGIC or the TAIC venues to host the upcoming championship games.

The Championship will see a total of 56 teams from around the country including Wewak, Goroka, Lae and Butibum - Lae  and Hula - Central Province and Ianawabui - Central Province, Manus.  A number of associations from NCD are Vabukori volleyball association, Volleyball Fairfax, NCD Volleyball Association, Kauka Volleyball Association, Manubada Volleyball Association, Fishermans Islands Volleyball Association, Poreporena volleyball association and Tatana volleyball association and  Taikone taking part in the championship.


Amelia Minnopu and Kila Dick_Large

From Left to Right: PNG Volleyball Association Secretary Ronald Omoa, Male Vice President Kila Oli, BSP Corporate Sponsorship Manager Amelia Minnopu, PNG Volleyball Association President Kila Dick, and  committee members George Darea and Koavea Karulaka.